Jump to content
Enpass Discussion Forum

first start up - after clean installation - option to set directory to an already existent vault


Recommended Posts

First - I like a lot enpass and thanks for this good application.

ok, now the request.

Due to diverse reasons I installed enpass from scratch several times (an in different machines).

My vault and settings (the xxxx\enpass directory) are already existing before the scratch installation. This is because they reside in local synchronized directory (dropbox style).

At the first start (after a clean installation) the only options are import from version 5, dropbox, etc... and new user.

None of which are my case.

I'm forced to stop the synchronization with my upstream directory.

Then select "new user" which creates the \enpass (vault) directory in the default place (which is not what I use).

Only then I have access to "Advanced settings" to change the path to the xxxx\enpass (vault) directory. When doing, this the application

deletes the files from the default place and writes a default vault and settings at my desired path xxxx\enpass also destroying all that was there before.

(If I didn't stop synchronisation this steps destroys my files upstream)

Then I need to close Enpass, restore my previous content at xxxx\enpass, downloaded from the upstream stored version.

Reopen Enpass, check that all is ok and restart the synchronization.

 

Could you add at the first start up another non destructive option for already existing enpass 6 vault with a browsing to directory to set the path as in advance settings ?

Regards

Daniel

 

 

 

 

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
 Share

×
×
  • Create New...